Wärtsilä and Suny Maritime College hosted the NASDAQ Closing Bell ceremony

Wärtsilä Corporation, News 14 October 2011 at 13:00 UTC+2

 Nasdaq closing bell 1   

Wärtsilä and State University of New York, Maritime College jointly hosted the NASDAQ Closing Bell ceremony on Thursday 13 October 2011. This occasion coincides with the dedication of the Wärtsilä Lab and donation of a diesel engine and equipment by Wärtsilä to the SUNY Maritime College. Guests and speakers of the ceremony included Frank Donnelly, President, Wärtsilä North America, John Hatley, Vice President, Ship Power, Wärtsilä North America, Rear Admiral Wendi Carpenter, USN (Ret.) President, SUNY Maritime College, Consul General of Finland Ambassador Ritva Jolkkonen, and Gary Jobson, America’s Cup Winner/President of U.S. Sailing.

To kick off the ceremony, the NASDAQ host welcomed the group and stated that Wärtsilä represents what it truly means to be a NASDAQ-listed company – the visionaries, the game-changers, those who dream to do more.

Admiral Wendi Carpenter, President SUNY Maritime College, expressed her gratitude to Wärtsilä for their contribution and also noted: “The world just grew slightly smaller as another bridge was built linking Maritime College in New York City with Wärtsilä, the Finnish nation and the international maritime community.”

Wärtsilä North America President, Frank Donnelly, highlighted the new public-private partnership between Wärtsilä and SUNY Maritime College and how this donation will provide the opportunity to train future maritime engineers and industry leaders.

Following a 10 second countdown, Wärtsilä and SUNY Maritime College, together with their guests rang the NASDAQ closing bell to conclude the business day on October 13, 2011. Wärtsilä hosted a cocktail reception in the heart of Times Square to celebrate the occasion.

 Nasdaq closing bell 2  

Video presented at Times Square in New York during the NASDAQ Closing Bell Ceremony.

See the video from the ceremony. Copyright 2011 Nasdaq OMX.

Photos: copyright 2011 Nasdaq OMX