Wärtsilä in West Africa


1996Wärtsilä SACM Diesel France takes over SARIA Senegal which was established in Dakar since 1957. The company is renamed Wärtsilä West Africa and, in 2000, a branch office is created in Libreville, Gabon within the framework of a maintenance contract with SEEG in Owendo.
2003Wärtsilä decides to reorganize and strengthen the activities in West Africa, by starting to cover all the products of the Company. At the same time the management responsibility is shifted from France to Wärtsilä Headquarters. The hub for Wärtsilä in West Africa is in Dakar with operations in Abidjan and Libreville and covers the service activities in 25 countries in Western and Central Africa.
2004Wärtsilä in Guinea is created so as to operate the Siguiri O&M Agreement. This branch office is also in charge of sales activities in the region.
2006Wärtsilä in Gabon is created as a branch office from Senegal
2008The area of Wärtsilä West Africa is split-up into two zones with the creation of Wärtsilä Central Africa in Douala. Wärtsilä Gabon is therefore under the responsibility of the latter entity.

Today, Wärtsilä in West Africa is covering fifteen countries as listed below:

Senegal - Mauritania - Cap-Vert - Gambia - Mali -Sierra Leone - Guinea Bissau - Guinea - Burkina Faso - Liberia - Niger - Ivory Coast - Ghana - Togo - Benin